Shooting daylight film inside (without a filter)

One of the cool things about taking an astronomy course right now is learning a bit more about color temperature, but that’s an aside.  With photography, what’s immediately important is that outside light will look different than inside light to film.  In fact, the only film made today is daylight-balanced (except for some Kodak motion picture film).  So, either you go buy a 400-foot reel of 35mm motion picture film from Kodak, or you (would usually) slap a cooling filter on your camera, but that will by definition lose you some light, by reducing certain colors.

I had a brilliant idea.  Actually, I don’t think I’m the first to think of it.  But why use a filter and have to compensate by 1/2 a stop or so, when you could just do it in Photoshop?  Well, I decided to give that a try.  I was already halfway through a roll of Fuji Superia 800, so I just decided to take that camera with its 55mm f/1.8 lens and shoot it indoors.  If the shots looked too orange, I’d just correct them in post (a very digital idea).  Well, it seemed to work out alright…

Before
23

After
23a

The thing is, I’m not 100% happy with the way they turned out, and it could just be the fact that I just don’t know my way around Photoshop that well.  Do they look better than they did?  Yeah, I think so.  But if I had to do it over, I might have gone for a different camera, put a 1.4 lens on it, and just keep it on one setting if possible, get as much exposure on the film as possible.  I’m sure someone out there has more experience with this than me.  Care to weigh in?

Please discuss!

