Katy Graves EP release party, 02/28/14

Finally, a post about pictures.  I don’t know how everyone usually does copyright notices, I just kind of stuck mine on with Microsoft Paint, quick and dirty.  I doubt I actually need it, but then again, who knows.  All rights reserved, so there.  Anyway, it was nice to pull out the old Spotmatic and have some fun.

One of the (quite legitimate) cracks against digital that I hear a lot is how people shoot it, namely taking lots of pictures in quick succession, then looking at the screen on the back of the camera to make sure they got something usable (and in the process probably missing the best shots due to distraction).  I saw a couple people there that night who are at least semi-pro photographers, with Canon 5Ds (I guess that’s the current go-to camera for digital photographers/videographers?) and they shot all night.  I wonder how many pictures they ended up taking, considering that from all those that were posted on Katy’s facebook page, there were no more than 16 from any one photographer.  My main job was doing sound, not taking pictures, so I’m sure I missed a lot of good shots myself while I was pulling my hair out over the board, but I used 2 1/2 rolls of film and came up with 44 interesting (or at least usable) images (not all included here), a much better percentage of keepers.  Usually, when you’ve taken a really good shot, you know immediately, and then you spend the rest of the time thinking about that one picture, how it will turn out.  I had maybe two of those this time, no more.

I used my Pentax Spotmatic camera that I bought at a garage sale for $5.00, it came with a 55mm f/1.8 SMC Takumar lens, and that was my main camera for years.  I used two rolls of Fuji Superia 800 and one roll of Kodak, either Max or Ultramax 400, expired since 2002 (the last 6 pictures, it’s kind of evident).  I shot without a filter – you can read all about it in this post, if interested – some of the shots I didn’t bother to color-correct because they look good the way they are.  During the 2nd set they turned off all the lights except on stage, made it kind of hard to get usable shots, especially with 400 film instead of 800; some of those later pictures are taken at 1/15 handheld.  I think they turned out alright, though I wish I’d had a roll of Tri-X with me, it would have solved numerous problems.

Speaking of the Spotmatic, there were a few times I really wished I had a wide-angle lens, but I didn’t, until I got my film developed down at the real camera store in Colorado Springs.  They also happen to sell used cameras, lenses, and accessories so I came back with a 28mm f/3.5 lens.  Probably not the kind that will help me indoors, but hey, it was affordable.

One thought on “Katy Graves EP release party, 02/28/14

  1. Pingback: The learning curve with Cinestill 800T | The Resurrected Camera

Please discuss!

