An uplifting message for 2015

I’d like you all to go listen to this short message from the Figital Revolution:

http://figitalrevolution.com/2015/01/01/new-years-message-2015-film-is-back-baby/

Last year was hard, but the worst is behind us, and film survives.  While I’m not happy about how close we came to losing Kodak, we might be able to look back in a few years and say that that was film’s Dunkirk.  And now that the worst is behind us, there’s plenty of things to look forward to in the year 15, the most significant being Ferrania rising from its grave.

I’ve got a lot of things going on in 2015 myself, including signing up for the photography Alternative Processes course, and also will be taking Film Scoring.  Part of the fun of that class is that we will have to make our own films, then trade with other people.  I originally planned to start shooting over the break; it hasn’t happened yet, but I’m gathering ideas at the very least.  There’s no way I’d want something as blase as digital video for my work: I’ll be shooting film, probably in a similar format to what I did here.  It might not be a motion picture, but I’ve seen trailers from the ’60s that weren’t too dissimilar, and it also has the heritage of Chris Marker’s La Jetee to look back to as well.

Blu-ray finally made its way into my life after being something I merely dreamed of for almost 10 years now.  It’s wonderful to see how much detail there is that I’ve been missing, that can now be reclaimed, and I think that TV is where film is really making a big difference.  To experience the majestic combination of motion picture film, blu-ray, and television shows for myself, I picked up Arn: The Knight Templar and the first four seasons of Mad Men.  But not only do we have shows on the air today like True Detective and The Walking Dead that are shot on film, but a rich history of it going back all the way to I Love Lucy, that can can be brought back in hi-def glory thanks to modern digital technology. (it does have its uses!)  In fact, thanks to the process of going back to remaster Twin Peaks for blu-ray, David Lynch has hopped off the digital bandwagon and is back to using film again. Fantastic news keeps coming.  For the last year or two, I’ve been reading Kodak’s series of articles with directors and cinematographers talking about shooting modern productions on film.  It’s hardly a definitive list, but still really fascinating and informative.  If you’ve never come across this before, check it out.

With so much good news out there, let no one say that film is dead.  It’s alive and breathing, and it’s thanks to everyone out there who picks up and uses an old camera.  May all who shoot film prosper and thrive.

One thought on “An uplifting message for 2015

Please discuss!

