Contemplation

20c
From the first roll of Tri-X I ever shot

This is from one of the rolls from Summer 2013, and the first one that I sent through my Minolta F-2400 scanner.  It took a hell of a long time to get a routine down on that scanner, and while the results are good enough, the hassle just wasn’t worth it in my book, especially when the scanner sensor accumulated dust that started leaving lines on the scan.  And after that the Windows 98 machine I’d been using with it decided to stop working.  It wasn’t too big of a deal for me because I’d been pretty happy with the scans I’d got from the local camera store.  Just look at this.  Hopefully I’ll be getting a new scanner in the next week or two.

By the way, I really wanted to love the Minolta Hi-matic 9, but mine ended up being pretty trashed.  The shutter only ends up firing about half the time, so out of a 36-exposure roll, I got a little over 20 actual pictures.  What really killed me is that I paid more ($25) than for any other camera I’ve ever bought.  I was really looking forward to getting into rangefinders but now that’s been put on hold.  While the 1.7 lens it has is nothing to sneer at, I learned of the Yashica Lynx 14 which is a fixed-lens rangefinder with a 1.4 lens, so that’s the one I’m looking out for now, but it isn’t a huge priority, I’m still loving the Spotmatic.

edit: back in December 2015 I gave this camera away to my classmate Reggie.  He has a big thing for rangefinders and some experience fixing leaf shutters as well. I told him that if he ever got it fixed I’d take it back from him, but I have a much nicer rangefinder camera now and don’t miss it much.

9 thoughts on “Contemplation

  1. Nice Shot! It has a relaxing mood to it. How do you like Tri-X? What other black & white film have you shot? Currently I am shooting Ilford Delta 100 in my OM-1 while running some Tri-X 400 through my Mamiya. While I do like the results I got from shooting 35mm Tri-X, I really love it on medium format.

    • Thanks for the thoughts. I used Tri-X almost exclusively in my photography class back in 2013 and I loved the look long before that. Honestly I think it’s the best film ever made, but there are occasions where it isn’t the best choice (landscape, for instance). I’ve shot one roll of 120 with a Fujipet EE (I’ve talked about it here before) but the scan was pretty bad. I’ve also shot a bit of Plus-X (a wonderful film, sad that it’s gone), Kentmere 100 (looks good but very very grainy, moreso than Tri-X if you’ll believe it). I’m shooting a roll of Fomapan 100 at the moment so I’ll probably be talking about that sometime in a few weeks. Besides that, my freezer is pretty loaded at the moment, I have some T-Max 100, Double-X, and Fuji Across in 120 that I haven’t tried out yet. I’m set on film for a while 🙂

  2. I am still on the fence about which scanner to buy. It’s the one reason I haven’t developed a couple of rolls of Tri-X I shot last year. I wanted to develop then scan at home. Since I intend to shoot a lot more black and white film this year, I have to get serious about that scanner.

  3. Sucks that your Hi-Matic 9 is trashed. I recently purchased two Yashica Electro 35 GSNs because I wanted a rangefinder myself. Unfortunately, both of them don’t work! I think both have the “Pad of Death” issue. Oh well, $35 for two nice paper weights lol.

  4. Joe, need to save your money for a Nikon Coolscan. The scanners are not made anymore but are still for sale used. Nikon scanners are the best, I love mine.

    Greg

Please discuss!

