An update on the Alternative Processes photography class

We had our first class today, just going over the syllabus mainly, and looking at a few examples.  It seems we are going to do an overview of every photographic process invented in the 1800s.  In order:
Photograms/Rayograms
Chemigrams
Lumen Printing
Caffenol
Homemade pinhole cameras
Cyanotype/Blueprints
Wet Plate/Collodion (this one I’m really excited about)

What a list!  Actually, the first thing we’re doing is Solargrams: we’re going to make tiny pinhole cameras, stick a small piece of photo paper in them and then pick a spot outside to leave them for a few months and see what appears in terms of star trails.  I probably won’t get to shoot much film for this class, but I definitely plan on breaking out my cameras when I make in my film scoring class, and making full use of the darkroom as much as possible.  It’s nice to be surrounded by like-minded film shooters for once.  In the Intro class the only other person who’d ever shot film did it in a high school photo class, she graduated in the late ’90s.  This semester, fully half the class are dedicated film users, including the instructor.  I’m so excited right now, can’t wait for Thursday.

In other news, I’ve been talking about wanting to try Velvia 100 for a while now, well I just bought a roll.  I took my Spotmatic in to the camera store for a CLA because I wanted to have accurate shutter speeds in preparation for my shipment of film from Ferrania, and they told me that it was just outside of tolerances and while they could make it better, it wouldn’t be by much.  In fact, they suggested that I just set the light meter 1/3 stop faster and that that would compensate enough.  Hmmmm.  Well, I suppose if they say so, it’s just strange that all this time I’ve been worried about this and maybe I shouldn’t have been.  It’s nice that they were honest enough to tell me that it would be a waste of money.

Please discuss!

