Alternative Processes – Cyanotypes

Cyanotype prints can be made from just about anything, I’m told.  It’s one of those old-time processes that melds very well with today’s digital technology, and all that are needed is two chemicals mixed together coated on something and exposed to the sun, washed in regular water, maybe with a bit of hydrogen peroxide.  Besides contact-printing anything you can think of like with a lumen, it’s very possible to take any digital image, turn it black & white and then print it on a transparency as a negative.  Mine were already black & white Tri-X scans, all I did was to invert them and have my local UPS store print them on transparencies for me, 9in on the long side.

The process works on cloth as well as paper, which is where I got the original idea for my project, as two of my friends just had a baby and I decided to decorate a onesie for their child to wear (image used on left).

Cyanotype1  Cyanotype2

I’ve had a few hiccups on the onesie: I’m on my third try, and my problem right now seems to be prewashing in detergent before coating: the wonderful deep blue color turns a sickly yellow after a regular machine wash, and I don’t know how many washes it can take, it’s possible it could just fade away.  These pictures were originally taken back in November when my friends stopped by to play a show in a local bar.  The original post can be found here.

2 thoughts on “Alternative Processes – Cyanotypes

  1. Pingback: Cyanotype onesies – Alternative Processes | The Resurrected Camera

Please discuss!

