Prepared piano

Fall 2013.  I was working with my composition teacher that day on improvisation and since her piano was already far out of tune, we decided to make it sound even more interesting by altering the sound of the strings with clamps and whatever else we had on hand.

AA002a

AA003a

I pulled out the camera on my phone so I could remember later where I had put the clamps in case I ever wanted to get that sound again, then remembered that I was in a photography class, had my camera with me, and should really be using it more often.  This also became the inspiration for one of my later projects in the class, where I created a series of images of the inside and outside of the piano.

One thought on “Prepared piano

Please discuss!

