Caffenol ingredients – Alternative Processes

Finally people have found a good use for coffee!  In 150 years or so when no one is making film or developing chemicals (could be longer), or when you run out and need to develop something right away, at least these products should still be readily available in your area!  I’ve been assembling the ingredients and wanted to source as much of it locally, which ultimately ended up costing me more money and a bit of time, but it can be done, if one is using the Delta-STD recipe.

Instant coffee, the cheaper the better.  There’s this one instant coffee from Germany that supposedly is just the worst ever, I hear it’s perfect for caffenol.  I found it at my local grocery store, it’s the “Psst…” brand.  $3.50

Washing soda (not baking soda), Arm & Hammer brand.  It’s un-American to go with anything else.  $4.50

Vitamin C power needs to be pure Ascorbic Acid, with no additives of any kind.  I finally tracked this down at a health foods & supplements store in town.  8 oz/226g $22.00 (much cheaper online, I found!)

Potassium Bromide (KBr) is not used in Caffenol Delta-STD, but is useful as an anti-fogging agent and is found in the C-M and C-L recipes.  I had no luck tracking this down locally.  Every pharmacy I went to locally or in Colorado Springs said they couldn’t get it anymore.  I also went to my local veterinarian/animal hospital, they could get it, but wouldn’t sell it to me without a prescription.  Maybe if I make my mom’s dog watch enough Pokemon he’ll have seizures and I can get a prescription…?  I was defeated, and ended up buying some from Bostick & Sullivan, the dealer my photo class TA suggested.  250g for $18.00

This will end up being my final project in Alt.Process, but due to time constraints I won’t use caffenol for my Film Scoring assignment.  I’m really disappointed that I wasn’t able to find KBr locally.  I kind of thought that part of the idea of caffenol was that the ingredients should be readily available, and also affordable.  I’m having my doubts about that right now, but what I don’t know is how many rolls I can develop with what I have, but soon I will find out…

aa036a
Edit: everything’s been working out pretty nicely with Caffenol.  This T-Max 400 example is nearly grainless, and other films I’ve tried have reduced grain as well.

4 thoughts on “Caffenol ingredients – Alternative Processes

  1. Pingback: Joe’s personal Caffenol C-L recipe | The Resurrected Camera

Please discuss!

