Tape Deck

This is an outtake from the film I’m making right now for film scoring class.  As you can see from the picture, it’s a Teac A-2340RS 4-track quadraphonic machine that uses 7″ reels of 1/4″ tape, running at either 7.5ips or 3.75ips.  This is the machine I recorded my first album on, and these days I don’t get a whole lot of use out of it, but I did get to drag it out of storage and record some dialog with the old beast.  I’m currently recording on Ampex 642, one of my favorite tape stocks.

AA001a

I actually really like this shot, I just don’t think I have a use for it in my film.

One thought on “Tape Deck

  1. Joe I’m not sure what your films about but what about filming the warm glow of the vu meters in action up close and a close up view of the take up tensioner moving just might win you a prize. These spots are sure to fit in any film.

Please discuss!

