Hey look: shadow detail!

Alright, I’m learning a bit more about scanning every time I fall down flat on my face.  I rescanned all my negatives from the Fall 2013 Intro class and not only did it take less time to scan, it’s taking way less time to finalize.  I’m guessing I could still dig into TLX Client to pull even more information out of those negatives (and I will at some point), but going back to processed scans with PSI has satisfied me for now.  Basically, all I’m doing at the moment is bumping down the contrast to -20 (more, in some cases), and raising the light on a few just on a case by case basis, then again, final correction in Photoshop.  Like I said, I’m happy and it’s making life easy for me:

AA018a
before

AA018
after (and I didn’t even dodge her face!)

AA019a
before

AA017a
after

So I’m glad I finally got that settled.  Read the first part of this saga here.

2 thoughts on “Hey look: shadow detail!

  1. Pingback: What I’ve learned so far living with the Pakon | The Resurrected Camera

  2. We had pre-flashed the negatives (motion-picture) at labs to reduce the contrast (Gamma levels) many years ago, if fill-in is not possible or not desired…

Please discuss!

