Fujipet EE – Ektar 100

It’s been more than a year since I loaded this camera, and I spent all of last school year with the Fujipet just in my backpack.  Things I learned:
-I didn’t have the film advanced to frame 1 for the first several months I shot it, and it took several months to get to frame 1 because I wasn’t winding it far enough, either (I really didn’t use it that often).
-it might need faster film, or a bit more sun
-maybe I shouldn’t be leaving Ektar 100 lying around in a camera for a year before processing?
-maybe before making any judgements, I need to shoot another roll.  I remember that I didn’t always have any needle action when looking through the viewfinder, I just hoped for the best.

I’ll also admit, I’m a bit rusty on color film now, and the fact that I didn’t have the Pakon’s color profiles really bummed me out.  I scanned on the school’s Epson Perfection 10000 in the Visual Resource Dept. (I assumed that would give me better results than the V600s in the library), which took me about an hour for the 10 images that turned out.  Then another couple hours in Photoshop trying to get the colors to look right (large blue cast, and I don’t think I got completely there with some of them, but I burned out, man).

Ektar looks great when I can get it properly exposed, though why it wasn’t most of the time, still confuses me.  Everything I’ve been able to find about the Fujipet says that it should use ASA100 film, but many of my shots came out really underexposed, and that was with me covering the selenium meter with my hand, telling the camera to give it the widest aperture it could.

I have some Fuji Across in 120 that I bought with the express purpose of putting through this camera, but I’m wondering if I shouldn’t pick up something a bit faster, even going back to Tri-X, because the other thing I’m wondering is if the selenium meter is starting to go.  I do think, however, that I’ll put at least one roll of Acros through it, and I’ll make sure to shoot it on a sunny day.

All complaining aside for a second though, I think the Fujipet has a pretty sharp lens, considering it’s plastic, and I can get plenty of detail on those scans when the camera shake doesn’t affect the picture.  OK, I guess I’m not done complaining, after all.  1/50 second can be kind of hard to use handheld with the 70mm lens.  I’ll have to attach it to the tripod next time.

Please discuss!

