Week 9 – Intermediate Photography

It’s back to the Trip 35 and I’m dipping my toes into the world of night tripping, which basically means using high-speed film and resorting to the highest-light setting on the Trip 35, which is f/2.8 at 1/40.  A lot turned out fine, some were so thin that my scanner would just skip right on over those frames.  Thanks a lot, Pakon.  I think I probably shot the roll between 800 and 3200.  I developed around 1600 (D-76 stock + KBr for 15min at 72F).

I’d try some fresh Tri-X in the Trip 35 for some really low-light stuff, maybe bring out a roll of the Cinestill 800T for it, but for now this works.

When talking about photographers who have influenced me, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention Chris Marker.  He is an artist that has worked in many areas over the years and even has published several books of photographs, but I know him mainly from his films A.K., Sans Soleil, and of course La JeteeLa Jetee is special and I’ve mentioned it before here as being a direct inspiration to some of my own work in short films.  I use the same format of still images, as it allows me a cost-effective way to work with film, and 35mm no less.  La Jetee is one of the best examples of a no-budget picture and holds an honored place among the great French New Wave films.

snapshot20120803153146
End_Jetee_Goggles
stills from the film La Jetee – Chris Marker

A little trivia: this film was shot with a screw-mount Pentax SLR, the predecessor of my favorite camera, the Spotmatic.  Marker’s film inspired Terry Gilliam’s 12 Monkeys, itself a great film; both are worth owning.

Please discuss!

