Week 11 – Intermediate Photography

Halloween marked the final Red Headed Zombie show, which I have been a part of for several years now.  I’ll have a full post coming on that soon, but wanted to pick out three of my favorite images for this week’s assignment.  I even tried printing some to my black & white paper, it didn’t turn out all that well, unfortunately.

I broke out the Cinestill for this concert, but the lighting was so poor that I was shooting 1200-3000 and hoping the film’s latitude would come through for me.  It did, in fine style, but with the more underexposed shots, the grain (and colors) were a bit too much to deal with; they look fine as black & white, though!

kenny-clarke-7
KENNY CLARKE New York, 1948 – Herman Leonard

528
DEXTER GORDON New York, 1948 – Herman Leonard

When people think of jazz imagery, it’s hard not to think of a Herman Leonard picture.  I first noticed his work this summer when taking a jazz history course.  Our textbook was Jazz by Gary Giddins & Scott DeVeaux; Leonard’s images are all over the place in there, and so striking.  He got his start in post-war New York using his camera to gain free admission to jazz clubs, and over the years ended up hanging out with (and taking pictures of) some of the great jazz musicians of all time, including Miles Davis, Duke Ellington, Billie Holiday, Louis Armstrong, and so many others.  I picked out two of my favorites to show here.  If I had thought of it soon enough, I would have chosen a master’s study of Herman Leonard, considering that I’m myself a musician and spend so much time around musicians.  Too late now, I suppose…

Please discuss!

