Filter on/filter off

Ahhhhh, tungsten-balanced film!  I wish there were more of you in the world!


I kind of take it for granted that I’ll have to put in some effort in post making Cinestill films look right but sometimes I hate the extra computer work.  A few months ago I picked up a 52mm Nikon-branded Wratten 85B filter for use shooting Cinestill 800T outdoors, and it works like a charm, much better right out of the scanner.  Though I really do like the look of the unfiltered shot as well, even with early dawn light it was still pretty damn blue.  I really think that if you are planning on using this film in all conditions, it behooves you to get an 85A or 85B filter.  Armed with one of these Cinestill 800T easily becomes the most versatile color film you can buy; I just hope that someday Kodak makes something like a Portra 1600T so I don’t have to deal with the annoying halation effects…

3 thoughts on “Filter on/filter off

  1. At the rate people are taking up film photography there will be more new films once they can keep up with the demand….in the meantime you could try Portra 800 pushed one stop with a blue filter – I forget the number of it – it is in a book I have somewhere 🙂

  2. Pingback: What’s Up in the Neighborhood, April 1 2023 – Chuck The Writer

Please discuss!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.