A grown-up birthday

A friend of mine from church turned 37, so the guys all decided to celebrate…by hanging out in a garage.  I guess this will probably show my young age, maturity level, what have you, but still, it sounds like kind of a lame birthday.  I suppose when you and everyone else you know is 30-something and married with a family, grabbing a few hours in a garage for a few beers and a pipe is kind of all that can be expected.  I don’t know, it’s not really a part of “growing up” that I can say I’m looking forward to all that much.

That said, it was still more socialization than I usually get, and I haven’t gotten to hang out with these guys nearly at all since I moved down to the big city.  Also, I haven’t celebrated my own birthday for years now, really.  It always falls on finals week so my friends never wanted to do anything, and after a while I just stopped feeling like my birthday was anything worth celebrating.  Besides, after you turn 21, there really isn’t much point to aging is there?

This is the last roll of film I shot through my (first) Canon 7 before it broke down.  My replacement came just yesterday, and hopefully that camera will be problem free.

5 thoughts on “A grown-up birthday

  1. Pshh. All of my birthdays are lame, then. I never go anywhere or do anything special. I feel good if my sons come over and say Happy Birthday. I don’t feel deprived by any of this.

  2. I agree with you on birthday’s, I turn 30 in a few month’s time and have had a very hard time convincing people that I just don’t care, it’s just another day.
    Some pretty lovely image’s here, love the smoke being caught by the light.

Please discuss!

